The way this dinner is gonna go down…(Shepherd’s Pie last-minute food-hack recipe)


I’ve got a plan.

First, I’d like to thank Teddy Roosevelt for the sage advice:

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

This, friends, is a great quote to live by.

Tonight, we’re having Shepherd’s Pie (or Cottage Pie, as Wikipedia tells us).

Or rather, a food hack of Shepherd’s Pie 🙂

Here’s what I’ve got to work with:

  • Belbake Masa quebrada (230g roll)– Translation: A roll of pre-made pie crust. [I bought it a while ago, and froze it. Yesterday, I popped it into the fridge to thaw. I took it out of the fridge about an hour or so ago to soften up.]
  • a bag of Auchan brand soja em granulos– that is to say, a bag of small-grain TVP (textured vegetable protein).
  • Vegeta (an awesome vegan bouillon I brought back from the US…it’s powdered, so it is easy to mix into things. Any veggie bouillon will do, though…or you can just use salt and other fun herbs)
  • a can of cooked peas
  • a wee little can of corn
  • a big can of white beans
  • half an onion
  • some pre-cooked pork bits (for my man’s single serving of the pie)

My game plan-

1. Soak the TVP/soja granules in water with some Vegeta. (They end up looking like minced chicken and tasting, I assume, much like this.)

2. Drain white beans. Pop them into the food processor with a pinch of Vegeta, some garlic powder (no garlic in the house just now), maybe a pinch of red pepper and oregano. Purée into goodness. (This will be my hack for mashed potatoes on top of the pie)

3. I’ll chop some onion and throw it into a pan with the pre-cooked pork bits. Sauté and mix those delightful flavors.

4. I’ll throw some onion and other seasonings (to be determined on the fly) into a different pan with the TVP. Sauté and mix those delightful flavors, too.

Enter the teeny ramekins

1. Line ramekins as gracefully as possible with baking paper.

2. Line baking-papered ramekins as gracefully as possible with pie crust dough.

3. Layer His with pork -bit-mix, some peas, some corn, and top with white bean purée.

4. Layer mine with TVP mix, some peas, some corn, and top with white bean purée.

5. Throw the cuteness into my degree-less gas oven for a while until heated through, and ideally until I get some golden brown little peaks on top of the purée.

The odds are good that I’ll make two each of the single-serve ramekins and then a medium-sized pyrex version.

Remember, it all works. Keep what you don’t use here, and use it again in something else (stir fry, soup, casserole, quiche) and leftover dough can become fun little savory snacks (a la pizza pockets). The white bean purée is a side dish on its own, so no worries there…and it is better for you than mashed potatoes 🙂
[Some links that helped me figure out how to implement my scheme:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/white-bean-dip-with-pita-chips-recipe/index.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cottage_pie

Right. Now for the actual cooking part of the plan :)…..

—–

And here’s how it turned out. (Forgive the photography…it’s mine. Sigh. BUT the pies were a hit for my man and I. The big one is his… the open one is mine.  )

2 thoughts on “The way this dinner is gonna go down…(Shepherd’s Pie last-minute food-hack recipe)

  1. The way it played out-

    The pork bits weren’t cooked, as I’d originally thought. I fried them up with the onion, peas, and corn. I also mixed (as opposed to the original plan to layer) the peas and corn into the TVP mix).

    The little pies look and smell great… I’m looking forward to digging in!

Leave a Reply

