It’s a freakin’ caldeirada over here! (Slang and a Portuguese Fish Stew recipe)


Language is fun.

My Man made caldeirada de peixe last night– essentially a clusterf%ck of fish, veggies, and potatoes. I suppose some might call it a stew. I go with clusterf%ck since I learned the two words (clusterf%ck and caldeirada) are analogous in our relative English/Portuguese slang. Fun, no?

My Man’s cooking is no caldeirada, however…at least not in the slang sense of the word. Folks, My Man can cook. He cooks like a Portuguese grandma…a Portuguese grandma who cooks really good traditional dishes.

Granted, dear reader, I don’t eat fish, or chicken, or meat (or anything that can move around of its own volition), however I can appreciate the rich scents, the appearance of flesh and veg cooked to perfection, and the obvious appreciation of those who do eat some of My Man’s traditional specialties. I can also extrapolate from the vegetarian dishes he cooks from me that he has some degree of skill and finesse in the food arts 🙂

And so, I share with you My Man’s lovely creation:

From what I understand, caldeirada de peixe is made with a variety of fish, some wine, potatoes, olive oil, and veggies of your choice…probably with a bit of stock. You don’t boil it, however… I think it involves almost steaming the contents of the pot until you end up with a stew of all of the combined fish/veggie/wine juices. I think he roughly followed this recipe (in Portuguese, from http://www.receitasemenus.net/content/view/3173/313/):

It isn’t too hard to translate, actually. If anyone is interested, I’m happy to do it. Otherwise, I’m just happy to brag about my Renaissance Man 🙂

Leave a Reply

