Easy as Pie… (Single-serve apple pie à la Gradissima)


I just shared a post involving citrus and baked goods, so I thought I’d keep going–

I’m sharing my quick-and-easy (and Portuguese approved!) mini-apple pie.

I don’t (as you may know) abide baked fruit. (Jams, some berries, etc. are fine…anyway, not the point of this particular post.)

However, My Man loves him some baked apples with Port (a Portuguese favorite), and he loves apple pie.

From time to time, then, I’ll make him little baked treats. Since he’s the only one eating them, I make single-servings.

Yesterday, I made him a weensy apple pie.

This involved:

  1.  Store-bought masa folhada (pastry dough)
  2.  A couple of apples (diced, about a cup)
  3.  A generous helping of cinnamon (canela), a pinch of nutmeg (noz moscada), and a sprinkling of sugar (with a spritz of olive oil to moisten the sugar) to top the little pie.
  • First, I cut a square (really a rectangle. Let’s not get pedantic.) of pastry dough to fit my adorable ramekin.
  • (Roll the rest of the dough back up and pop it into the refrigerator or freezer for later use.)
  • Then, I diced some apple into a bowl. I threw in lots of cinnamon and a bit of nutmeg. Stir that goodness up.
  • Line ramekin with baking paper. Tuck pastry dough into ramekin, leaving corners poking out the top so you can fold it over.
  • Stuff chock full of apple mixture. Fold over top of pastry, and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar over the top. Spritz with olive oil (hurrah for the Misto) to help moisten the sugar…I find this makes a nice sugary glaze/crust.
  • Bake until the whole kitchen smells great and the crust is puffy and golden.

For a dessert, this is pretty healthy. The pastry crust isn’t health food, for sure, but you could make your own. For a quick, easy, baked desert that fills your kitchen with fresh-baked apple-pie goodness, this one is tops in my book.

And now for some photos:

Cut out a bit of dough...
Dice and spice your apple

Ramekin ready for the oven
Cinnamon-sugar-topped pie-let
Oven-baked goodness

And now, a couple of gratuitous photos from this morning…

Little tree
Burnt door
One thought on “Easy as Pie… (Single-serve apple pie à la Gradissima)

Leave a Reply

