Know Your Peppers – Feature – Food News – CHOW


Today feels like a good day to hit some of the basics. (That’s as deep as my reasoning goes, so don’t hold your breath for anything more profound.)

Peppers are among my favorite foods.

I love fresh red bell peppers (capsicum) from the farmers market.

Thai peppers can turn fried rice into Gradissima-Crack.

Padrón peppers are one of My Man and my favorite tapas here in Portugal (thanks, Spain!).

Just thinking of hot banana peppers on pizza makes me drool.

Pickled jalapeños help to stave off the Tex Mex DTs for this expat.

Ok. I’m making myself stop this list because it’s making me too hungry.

The point, however, is that I think pepper-knowledge is handy in the kitchen.

So, I’m sharing the link to Chow.com’s “Know your Peppers” Feature for your viewing pleasure. Enjoy 😉 {NB: if you want to download a pepper poster, you can do so on the original page… pretty cool!}


Chile peppers are thought to have originated in South America, but they have been cultivated all over the world for centuries, resulting in a wide variety of species with different colors, shapes, flavors, and, of course, spiciness. We consulted pepper expert and grower David Winsberg from Northern California’s Happy Quail Farms to put together a chart of some common peppers as well as a few less common varieties that are now becoming available in the United States thanks to specialty growers like Winsberg. Average size and hotness scale (from 1 to 5) included.

… Heat up your pepper knowledge at http://www.chow.com/food-news/55198/know-your-peppers/. Get the downlow, uses, heat rating, and other neat tidbits here 😉

One thought on “Know Your Peppers – Feature – Food News – CHOW

Leave a Reply

