Thinking…Posts to Come, Instapaper, and Pinterest


My Darling Gangstas,

I’ve been thinking of you a lot lately… thinking, in general…and definitely thinking far more than I’ve been doing.

It’s been one of those weeks.

Still, I’ve been making mental lists of posts to share:

  1. Strawberry Tart a.l.G. Redux
  2. WTFarro
  3. TVP and Soy nugget explainer
  4. Cinnamon Rolls – no yeast, no egg, no butter…not bad. (I’m still perfecting this with “research” and “experimentation” :P)
  5. Other collected nerdiness that I will filter through 🙂

I’m going to resist doing my pseudo-Ike Turner impression (baby, I love you… I’ve just been so (whatever) I didn’t blog. C’mon baby…) and leave you with something more constructive…

Instapaper.

For real.

I’m a hyper-researcher. I just made that word up. Now it means this:

A hyper-researcher is someone who, being always online, automatically looks up everything he or she does not understand, doesn’t know, or wants to understand more fully. All the time. The hyper-researcher looks up recipes, random craft techniques, word definitions, jargon (say, from crime shows, medical shows, comedic and cultural references, academic disciplines, slang) from tv shows or movies as the show is being viewed. This often results in an obscene number of browser windows or tabs being open at any given time.

This is why Instapaper is awesome:

It’s free. They don’t spam you. You add a bookmark to your browser window, and whenever you find an article you want to read (but not now), press the “Read Later” button. The webpage is saved in your Instapaper account in a handy, easily sortable, archivable list. You won’t forget about the info. You can read it whenever. Your computer will thank you.

You can also download the articles/webpages in printable form or in a format readable on your Kindle , iPhone, and iPad so you can read later, offline. You can even forward long email messages to your own Instapaper email address (unique to you) and read them later offline.

Every student should use Instapaper. So should every Gradissima-like nerd. Super-awesome computer nerds probably use something so much cooler I wouldn’t even know about it. That’s their business. For you and I, however, Instapaper rocks 😉

Check it out.

For real 🙂

A little post-script here-

I just stumbled upon this post about Pinterest for those visual folks, and I thought you might like it as an alternative to Instapaper. Check it out if you have the time.

New Site Is the Pretty Alternative to Bookmark Blah

Posted by Amy Keyishian

on May 20, 2011 at 2:09 PM

PinterestI don’t know about you, but I have about 40 kabillion bookmarks that I can never find when I need them. Even when I organize them into folders like “crafts I want to make,” “apartment ideas,” “cute baby gifts,” and “amazing art,” I end up forgetting where I put stuff.

So when my craft-ninja friend Lisa told me about her favorite new procrastination tool, I threw several deadlines out the window and headed over. It’s called Pinterest, and it’s going to revolutionize your design life.

…Keep on reading at: http://thestir.cafemom.com/home_garden/120420/new_site_is_the_pretty

Leave a Reply

