First things first: Honey Oatmeal Scones!


I have a few other tidbits that I’ve been wanting to write about for the past couple of days, but let’s focus on the important stuff first.

Food.

Namely, honey oatmeal scones- perfect for this delicious autumn weather 🙂 Obviously, with the shift into fall, baking becomes mandatory for Gradissima ;p However, we just had a 4-day Halloween weekend, which means I’ve been on a stringent fat-bastard diet of sugar with a generous sprinkling of fats (and artificial colors, of course!).

I’m gradually weaning myself (gently…ever so gently) off the all-sugar diet, and today I managed a breakfast that seemed the perfect compromise: whole grain, seeded toast with chunky peanut butter…and a mug of hot chocolate. It was perfection.

Of course, I shoved four (packaged, store-bought) shortbread cookies down my throat with my mid-morning mug ‘o’ tea. Meh. It’s a give and take.

Anyway, baking for today needed to include oatmeal and some wholesome goodness… and to smell good…and to taste good (not too “health food”-y) so that my Man and his buddies at work will enjoy them when I send half the batch with my aforementioned Man tomorrow. (Fat-bastard detox baking rule #1 mandates that at least half the baked product leave the house as soon as possible to prevent self-loathing as a result of face-stuffing. But you all know this.)

Ok. Yadda, yadda, yadda, I googled and shopped around my favorite sites and compared ingredients and settled on THIS recipe for Gradissima-style bastardization.

Oh, Eggs on Sunday, thank you for this wholesome-y goodness 😉

Check this out:

Whole Grain Maple Oatmeal Scones

MARCH 8, 2008
by eggsonsunday
breakfast_mapleoatmealscones_3.jpg

We love our scones on weekend mornings! Occasionally I like to mix it up a bit from the traditional white flour cream scones, though. You may know by now that I sometimes fiddle with substituting white whole wheat flour into baked goods; I try to do the substitutions only when the flavors seem like they can take it — i.e. I wouldn’t use whole grain flour in a delicate, light lemon cake. Maple and oatmeal, though? They’re made for whole grain flour!

breakfast_mapleoatmealscones_1.jpg

….

They look good, right? That’s an understatement. 🙂 Eggs on Sunday has lovely, 101 Cookbooks -style photography, so I’m not even bothering to get my camera to show you my scones. (They look pretty much the same as these, though my photography skills wouldn’t do them justice.)

So, I started with the Whole Grain Maple Oatmeal Scones recipe, and then I tweaked it.  I’ll leave you to go to the original page for the recipe.

The substitutions and additions I made are these:

  • I replaced the maple syrup in the recipe with the same amount of honey.
  • I added about 1/3 c of ground hazelnuts and 1/3 c of wheat bran (farelo de trigo) to the dry ingredients (before adding the butter)
  • my yogurt and milk mixture was one 125g container of fat-free yogurt and a splash of milk (as opposed to 1/3c yogurt, 1/3c milk)
That’s it! Mine are golden, smell like honey-heaven, buttery-toasty on the outside, and impressively moist and light on the inside. You know you have a good base recipe when your tweaking works! And this one is also very easy to tweak if you’d like to make it vegan 🙂 (Soy-based cream would substitute well for the yogurt-milk mixture, or you could use soymilk and soy yogurt… and margarine works instead of butter… etc.)

Happy autumn, folks 🙂

5 thoughts on “First things first: Honey Oatmeal Scones!

    1. ;P I’m sure you could freeze some…or better yet, MAYBE you could find some friends, neighbors, family to push a few onto… 🙂 Luckily, this recipe doesn’t make a huge batch… ideal for maybe two breakfasts for 3-4 people 😉 Maybe H and E and Grandma could help you guys out? 🙂

Leave a Reply

