Another rough sketch in progress: savory high-fiber, high-protein bars


Another kitchen experiment gone well…

The rough lines of it are these:

Quinoa, bulgur, sesame seeds, amaranth, flax seeds, chia seeds, a sprinkling of sunflower seeds, all soaked in water overnight…
Put the pot of this goodness on the stove the next day and heated until remaining water was absorbed…
About a cup of this goes to the blender with some homemade olive oil (portuguese family)…
About a cup (puréed) of butternut squash and a garlic bulb (puréed along with the squash)
Cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, salt, curry powder…
Around two teaspoons baking powder added way too late, but in good faith…

Smoosh into baking pan….Bake for a while at 160C…
E voilá…

20120420-104822.jpg

It is not unlike spicy, delicious, moist cornbread….my Man likes it, I like it (VERY snack able when I feel like some thing savory), and I can happily eat it cold from the refrigerator or microwave it…

So now my foodbrain is going wild…this weekend, when my Man is home, I’ll be playing with quinoa and frozen strawberries to make bars…I’ll also make more of those amazing chocolate bars that inspired this savory adventure…they are so good, and I love them more and more as the days go on…they feel like healthy brownies…and they really fill me up! I’m satisfied, my chocolate cravings are met, and my blood sugar doesn’t fluctuate like mad. I really feel great, which is impressive since I pretty much subsist on these two types or bars and coffee and water during the day.

I have grand plans to incorporate frozen spinach, peas, broccoli…at least into savory bars! Though I’ve heard that black bean brownies are really very good. Beans are an easier flavor to work with than spinach or broccoli, however, when it comes to sweets!

Have you had any recent food adventures you’d be willing to share? Particularly anything involving whole foods and healthy goodness in bar form?

Leave a Reply

