It’s not that I don’t love you…(Vanilla Bean Beignets and The Value of Talking to Oneself)


It’s just that, at least for My Man, Carnivale in Portugal = work holiday.

That’s right. When I’m hanging with my unreasonably attractive husband, I don’t spend time blogging. Don’t feel used or dirty, friends. I still love you. I’m just taking a little break.

I know how to make it up to you…don’t you worry. First, I’ll share some lovin’ that OTHER cool blogs have offered up recently. Then, later this week, I’ll share a bad-ass baking fix that my Gal Pal whipped up when she wanted some baked goodness but didn’t have any eggs in the house.

Yeah…you like that, don’t you?

Hm. Now I feel a little dirty. That was weird.

Anyway, all of the above promises will be made good on, starting with the OPB (Other People’s Blog) promise.

Behold (via Pretty Girls Cook):

Vanilla Bean Beignets with Chocolate Fudge Sauce

March 7, 2011
by Prettygirlscook

In celebration of Mardi Gras I made these beignets. They are light fluffy pillows of fried goodness. Seriously, they are delicious! What makes them even better is the warm chocolate fudge on the side. Enjoy with a cup of Café au lait.

Get the full recipe (including directions for the fudge sauce, which I presume can me made and consumed all on its own ;P) at http://prettygirlscook.com/2011/03/07/vanilla-bean-beignets-with-chocolate-fudge-sauce/
Now, if you are a friend of mine, you are fully aware of the sadfact that I will not likely ever attempt this recipe. This doesn’t mean it isn’t a good recipe. Nor does it mean that I don’t want to eat it.

On that note, I’ll happily and gently remind/inform you that my birthday is tomorrow. Vanilla Bean Beignets with Chocolate Fudge Sauce would qualify as an appropriate gift. FYI. I’m just sayin’.

And now, for something completely different:

(aka, funny stuff that you KNOW applies to you, but you may or may not choose to admit it to anyone else at this time, via Ramblings )

Using Technology To Avoid Commitment (The Padded Room Variety)

Portrait courtesy of lackcolor.com

I talk to myself. Which is OK, except I’ve started answering me back.

Sometimes I have long, involved discussions with me while puttering around the house.  I’m a sparkling self-conversationalist!  I also talk to the TV and the cat, but I don’t think that counts. When I talk to the TV and my husband is in the room, I consider that social interaction.

Most of the self-chatting is done in my car.  Almost every day I spend quality time going to the bank, the store, lunch and commuting.  If I’m listening to talk radio, I talk back.  If I’ve got music on, I sing along.  Loudly.  Then I critique me.  I can be pretty hard on me, but it’s for my own good.

…Read more and cackle to yourself at http://pegoleg.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/using-technology-to-avoid-commitment-the-padded-room-variety/
Cute, no? (If you answered “no”, quit being a hater. Oh– and it was rhetorical. Snob. ;P)

Leave a comment